I was a stay at home mom for about ten years or so, can’t remember exactly, I would need to do the math.  Nonetheless, I did things to bring in a little money here and there and so I took over my son’s paper route.  It was a little route, in the neighborhood.  During the nice weather it was always a pleasure to take an early morning walk delivering papers, and greeting some of the early risers on a weekend.  On this particular morning, the air was especially crisp, the colors vibrant, and I was thankful that it was no longer raining.  It was a beautiful walk, and I was pumped!  As soon as I arrived back home, Morning Greetings was born.

________________________________________________________________

Morning Greetings

Silver drops on blades of green,

warmth upon my cheek.

Sweet sounds of nature’s beasts,

flying as they speak.

.

The ground is laden with gift of rain.

The sky so crisp and blue.

It is the morning after,

a day of grayness without you.

.

My heart is filled with gladness,

as I walk amidst your light.

I see the splendor of your gifts,

life, color, sound and sight!

.

©Loly Mireles ‘99