Tags

, , , , , ,

This was homework for my English class, Myths and Ideas of Love. The assignment was to write about unrequited love. The day before the assignment was due, I wracked my brains to come up with something. But unrequited love, well that means that you love someone who doesn’t love you back, and then I was married, and had been married for nineteen years. No unrequited love here! So I tossed a few ideas, and then it hit me….what do I love, but sometimes I cannot have??? This poem was born out of that unrequited love, desire….dare I say fullfillment? Read on, and if you want to know what I was talking about, you’ll have to ask. I will not divulge my muse otherwise.
______________________________________________________________

I CRAVE THEE…

I see you and immediately I want you.
But it’s not enough!
No, not nearly enough.
I can’t have you ~ nay,
I shan’t have you without the other,
for I crave you both.
You drive me crazy!
The sight of you, the smell of him.
I look for you, but you’re not there.
If I cannot have you, I am resolute,
I will not have the other,
Because for me, there is no other ecstasy
than the pleasure you both bring.
You heighten my senses, fulfill my desires.
Oblivious I am to all,
When I have you both within my grasp.
For there could be no other way
To savor the sweetness of you,
Without tasting the salt of him.

©Loly Mireles ’98

