Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As a parent, we go through many heartbreaks.   When I wrote this, my then 16-year-old son ran away from home.  He ran away because things weren’t going well, and it was his way of letting us know that he was not happy with the situation of his father.  His older brother was 19 years old, and seldom home.  His younger sister, was 9 years old and she was, and continues to be, a quiet girl.  Alexander, was the middle child, the one that made the noise in the family and so when he left, all I could feel was the quietness in his wake.  For better or worse, I missed him, and his absence left a big void, which I felt deeply.

___________________________________________________________________

Quietness

There’s a quietness in the air,
that is deafening everywhere.
It’s a sound I do not like,
A certain stillness I cannot bear.

The noise of things I do all day,
to make the silence go away.
And the cause of this despair,
my younger son has gone astray.

There’s a sadness in my home,
as my son has left to roam.
The world he lives in does bestow
a sense of freedom all his own.

The role of mother is sublime,
Much to do with little time…
The road ahead I do not know,
and yesteryear is far behind.

There’s a quietness in the air,
that is deafening everywhere.
It’s a sound I do not like,
A certain stillness I cannot bear.
~ Loly Mireles  4/24/03

