Tags

, , , , ,

On Saturday, I was slated to attend the NHAWLT’s Conference.
In the past, I’ve driven to wherever the conference was being held, sometimes it’s close by and sometimes it’s a bit of drive to some beautiful place up north. This year it was held at Church Landing at Mills Falls in Meredith, NH, a beautiful little New England town. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that my intended had planned on going with me to keep me company during the long drive, he further decided that we should spend the night there, so we wouldn’t have to wake up especially early, but rather stay at the Meredith Inn, a beautiful bed and breakfast, which was close to the conference center. It was a wonderful way to start a weekend, and now I still feel like the rest of the weekend is before us.


up north
we go
the drive
as always
is good
with you
we talk
we laugh
hold hands
the time
goes by
as quick
as a wink
once there
we find
our night’s
retreat
and off
we go
to have
our meal
a crisp
white wine
delicious
marsala
and eggplant
lasagna
topped off
with dessert
of
all different kinds
and when
the morning
comes
we make
our way
to the reason
we came
a conference
of teachers
the hours
go by
and once
again
I  find
myself
cocooned in
the car
with you
by my
side
enjoying
the ride
that leads
us back
home.

~L. Mireles
5 November 2011

